While you are waiting…

I make reference to a number of books in Wide Open – unlikely books that inspired me to to walk the Camino Portugues, books that contain quotes to support my experience, and yes, even books on quantum physics that provide unexpected back up. I thought I’d provide you with a reading list of these books, along with a brief explanation, just in case you wanted to read them…you know, while you are waiting for my side of the story:

My Stroke of Insight by neuroscientist Jill Bolte Taylor, who was able to consciously experience her own stroke. The infarct ended up impairing the entire left side of her brain and though it forced her to undergo a long difficult period of rehabilitation, she was incredibly grateful for the experience. She explains that without the analytical, scientific, intellectual hemisphere of her brain intact, the spiritual, expansive, love-driven side of her brain (the right hemisphere) could dominate. She describes perceiving an absence of physical boundaries, ‘like a genie liberated from a bottle’, a sense of glorious bliss, sweet tranquility, silent euphoria and unforgettable peace. After her stroke she was unable to experience separation or individuality and could feel herself as whole, beautiful and perfect. She also stipulates that this state of consciousness is available to all of us (without the need for a stroke) if we simply choose to favor right-brained endeavors over left. I want my whole life to be a right-brained experience. *Check out her TED Talk for a Coles Notes version!

The Devil on Her Tongue by Linda Holeman: a historical fiction novel about eighteenth century Portugal written by a Winnipeg-born author. As the author describes the country, the landscape and even the characters, it felt as if I have already been there – like I am remembering it from another lifetime.  And it desperately made me want to go back.

The Field by Lynne McTaggart, explains a concept in quantum physics called the Zero Point Field: because there is no such thing as a vacuum, or nothingness, we must assume that there is a giant reservoir of subatomic energy constantly interacting with matter. This energy is what would be left if everything else was taken away. It is described as a free and boundless energy, unable to pollute anything. Geez, man, sounds like Love to me.

And then there’s A Pilgrim’s Guide to the Camino Portugues by John Brierley. No explanation needed.

And of course, as previously mentioned, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce.

Happy reading.

Leave a comment